Complete List of Databases (A-Z)
Below are “databases” that our library subscribes to. They contain loads of information not necessarily found through the Internet. You’ll need your library card to log into most of these databases.
Academic Search Premier – Academic Search Premier covers the expansive academic disciplines now being offered in colleges and universities. It provides comprehensive content, including PDF backfiles to 1975 for more than 140 journals and searchable cited references for more than 1,000 titles.
AutoMate covers more than 35,000 vehicles from 1945 to present. Content includes nearly 857,000 drawings and step-by-step photographs, approximately 99,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer, over 158,600 enhanced wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing, specifications & maintenance schedules, Labor Time Guide & Estimator, AutoIQ. Video Tutorial [4:30 minutes]
Canadian Encyclopedia – A comprehensive information source about Canada and Canadians, for students, the general public and scholars. Includes articles written by experts, as well as web links and multimedia clips. No library card is required to access these resources on the Internet.
Canadian Points of View – contains more than 180 topics, each with an overview (objective background / description), point (argument) and counterpoint (opposing argument). Each topic features a Guide to Critical Analysis which helps the reader evaluate the controversy and enhances students’ ability to read critically, develop their own perspective on the issues and write or debate an effective argument on the topic.
EBSCOhost Primary Search – Search the content of more than 10,000 popular and academic magazines, reference books, plus images, covering all subject areas, from current events and history to the arts and sciences. Many Canadian titles are included. Narrow results by date, subject, publication, etc. Video Tutorial [2:25 minutes]
eLibraries – Download and listen to best selling and classic audio books 24/7 on your PC, laptop, PDA or MP3 player at home, in the office or anywhere in the world. It’s free, all you need is your library card.
Explora Canada – Ensure student and educator success with EBSCO’s new interface for schools and public libraries. Designed to meet the unique needs of its users, Explora supports both student research and classroom instruction with rich, reliable content and easy-to-use functionality.
Explora Primary Schools – Designed specifically for elementary school students, Explora Primary Schools provides access to popular full-text magazines for elementary school research.
Home Improvements Reference Center database – A definitive online tool for home improvement assistance, including: maintenance, remodeling, electrical work, plumbing, wood projects, outdoor improvements, decorating home & garden, etc. This comprehensive resource contains over 25 major reference works in full text with more than 10,000 images. Additionally, the database contains full-text magazines. Video Tutorial (5 min)
Khan Academy – “Learn almost anything for free.” 3300 videos explain many subjects.
Manitoba Bureau of Statistics – Statistics on population, business, the economy, labour and society.
MasterFILE Premier – MasterFILE Premier contains full text for general reference magazines and publications that cover a wide-range of subject areas including business, health, education, general science and multicultural issues. PDF backfiles are available as far back as 1922 for key publications including American Libraries, Foreign Affairs, History Today, Library Journal, National Review, Saturday Evening Post and more. In addition, Science News is available in HTML back to 1975.
NoveList [EBSCO] – Looking for a good novel? Want to find book reviews? Desperate to find other authors that are similar to your favourite? Check out NoveList, a database of fiction books and authors, recommended reading lists, book discussion ideas and book reviews for all ages.
OneClickDigital – A collection of more than 4,000 downloadable audiobooks from Recorded Books, including 100 Canadian titles from Maple Leaf Audio. These audiobooks are all simultaneous use, with no holds or waitlists. Download titles to your home computer, or to a mobile device using the OneClickDigital app.
RBDigital EMagazines – Online magazines that you can download for free and read on your computer, tablet or smartphone.
Small Engine Repair Reference Center – Clymer manuals containing thousands of maintenance and repair instructions for hundreds of small engine machines. Routine maintenance and more extensive repairs for motorcycles, ATVs, personal water craft, snowmobiles, lawn mowers, tractors, snow blowers, generators, and more are covered. Video Tutorial [3 minutes]
Teen Health & Wellness database – Real life – real answers.